Towong Shire Community

Search Council Services

About This Community

Towong Council has an approximate area of 6,700 km².

It is comprised of the suburbs of Bellbridge, Berringama, Bethanga, Bullioh, Bungil, Colac Colac, Corryong, Georges Creek, Granya, Jarvis Creek, Mount Alfred, Old Tallangatta, Pine Mountain, Tallandoon, Tallangatta, Tallangatta East, Thologolong, Tintaldra, Towong, Towong Upper and Walwa plus parts of Huon.

It is comprised of the localities of Biggara, Burrowye, Cudgewa, Eskdale, Guys Forest, Koetong, Lucyvale, Shelley, Talgarno, Tallangatta South, Tallangatta Valley and Thowgla Valley plus parts of Dartmouth, Mitta Mitta, Nariel Valley and Tom Groggin.

It is surrounded by the councils of Albury, Alpine Shire, East Gippsland Shire, Greater Hume Shire, Indigo Shire, Snowy Valleys and Wodonga City.

It is within the state electorate of Benambra.

It is within the federal electorate of Indi.